Honey Bees!

Those of you who follow me on Facebook The Pitchfork Princess you will have seen the very exciting news that we have decided to jump with both feet in and get some honey bees!

This was something we had been tossing the idea around for a while and were actually thinking of possibly getting our first hive next spring. However; an opportunity came up and I could not pass on it.

So, with that said- we now have our very own and first hive and bees!

We are now starting to get them ready for wintering. Here in Saskatchewan, Canada things get cold so I figure I will continue on with my reading during the winter months and then hopefully have a little bit more knowledge under my belt for when harvesting of the honey comes! 

This is most definitely a learning experience but I am so excited that I may be able to add some honey and honey products to our future farm products. Once Spring comes and they start producing we will then most likely add a few more hives and set ups to our farm. 

Heidi and I have already been planning our garden as well as her own little butterfly and bee garden. She is already wanting her own bee suit to come out as well!

So much to learn, but glad to be doing a little part for the environment and our beautiful world! 

Always looking for advice or tips, if anyone out there that is reading this has experience with honey bees, harvesting honey, bee gardens, etc I am hoping to hear from you and any resources you may have! 

Oh Blessed Bees! Xx

  

Leave a comment